Cake class, weeks 1-3

A few weeks ago I mentioned that I’d been given the opportunity to take a cake decorating class as a birthday gift, and I wanted to give you an update on how it’s been.

The course itself has four two-hour sessions.
The topics are, essentially:

  • Week 1: How to mix and tint frosting, how to prepare and fill a piping bag, and the basics of piping frosting using different-shaped tips
  • Week 2: How to layer and frost a full-sized cake, practice with a few more tips and techniques
  • Week 3: Piping borders, leaves, grass, basic drop flowers and a few more complicated flowers
  • Week 4: Writing on cakes, creating ribbon roses, and decoration of our final cakes

For the most part, weeks 1 and 2 were a lot of basic stuff that I already knew. However, one BIG thing that I learned right off the bat in week 1 turned out to be the most important lesson of the entire course—frosting consistency! Apparently [heavy sarcasm] there is a method to the consistency of your frosting. I have been decorating cakes and cupcakes for a while now and have always used whatever consistency of frosting the recipe or can turned out, which has resulted in everything from crumbs in my frosting to misshapen letters to droopy decorations. I am SO glad that I now know the “secret” to avoiding these mishaps! (If you want to know more about this, just ask me. I’d be happy to share my new-found wisdom.)

During the course I also had the opportunity to work with a few bag tips I’d never used before, the most significant being a petal tip—used to make ruffles and flowers such as a rose—and the leaf tip. I learned to make some really cool decorations with these that I’ll share in a future blog post.

For now, I’d like to leave you with a few snapshots of things I’ve been working on. At the end of each class, we had about 30 minutes to decorate using the techniques we learned in that session. Here is some of what I came home with:

week 1

Week 1: We started with just two frosting tips and discussed how to make some different shapes with them. These are stars, rosettes and a swirl.

week 2

Week 2: After we frosted our cake, we got to decorate it using techniques we’d learned. This whole flower is made using the “pulled dot” shape.

week 3

Week 3: I had fun with my brightly colored frosting making use of several shapes we learned: drop flowers, leaves, grass, shell borders, and the daisy. (My frosting was too thin for the daisy. It should have more clearly defined petals, haha.)

In my next post… Week 4 cake project, reflections on the course as a whole, and my answer to the “was it worth it?” question.  Coming soon! 🙂

-Lauryn

322 days until I turn 30
Leave a Reply

