Buttercream basics

cakeFor my birthday last month, my ever-supportive husband surprised me with registration and supplies for the Wilton Cake Decorating class at Michaels.

I’ve always been interested in the cake classes, but they’re fairly spendy, and you have to take class 1 before you can take the rest, so I’d wondered whether it would be worth the time and money to just get the basics. Lately, though, I’ve realized that I could benefit from a better foundation of knowledge about frosting and techniques.

So, during the month of June I’ll be learning “buttercream basics” alongside a handful of other sweet-tooths. (teeth?)  I’d invited a few friends to take the class with me, but no one else has taken the plunge, so the course will also give me a good opportunity to practice goal number 5—talking to strangers. 🙂

I’ll let you know how the class goes and whether it’s a good investment!

(By the way, if YOU want to take this class with me, let me know. The class is on sale for $20 and materials are like $30 so far.)

-Lauryn

346 days until I turn 30

 

Photo: Michael Prudhomme at en.wikipedia [CC-BY-SA-3.0, GFDL, CC-BY-SA-3.0 or CC-BY-2.5], from Wikimedia Commons
Leave a Reply

